Admin Login

Ulster GAA awards €30,000 to students in Bursary Scheme

By Sinéad Breen Donegal PRO Fri 28th Apr

Ulster GAA awards €30,000 to students in Bursary Scheme
Ulster GAA awards €30,000 to students in Bursary Scheme

Ulster GAA awards €30,000 to students in Bursary Scheme

Sixty third-level students have been awarded by Ulster GAA in their annual student bursary awards at an event that was held in St Mary’s University College, Belfast.

Now in its fifteenth year, the Ulster GAA Student Bursary Scheme – worth a total of €30,000 for 2022/23 – awards members of the Association attending a full-time undergraduate course at a university or third level college, and who are active participants in their Higher Education club.

All nine counties in the province were represented in the scheme, with recipients selected based on their playing, coaching and/or administrative commitments within H.E Colleges GAA.

Amongst the recipients are four Donegal students: Ciaran Moore, St Eunan’s who attends Jordanstown, Niall Quinn, Robert Emmets who attends Magee UU, Rachel Foy, Robert Emmets who attends Queen’s, Belfast, and Donal Doherty, Carndonagh who attends TU, Dublin.

Speaking at the event, Ciaran McLaughlin, Ulster GAA President, said:

“The GAA Student Bursary Scheme recognises young people who are excelling in our Association and Ulster GAA is delighted to be able to continue our commitment to the scheme this year, particularly in the context of the current economic climate. We have been able to select and award sixty outstanding Gaels, all of whom have contributed to their College GAA clubs on the field of play, on the sideline or in the committee room.

“I want to pay tribute to their hard work and effort in promoting Gaelic games in the third-level sector and we hope that these bursaries will assist them in balancing their academic and sporting lives at this time.”

The following 60 students are recommended for an award with a bursary of €500 each, equating to a total spend of €30,000.

The following 60 students are recommended for an award with a bursary of €500 each, equating to a total spend of €30,000.

Name  County  Club  College 
Mark Tomany Monaghan Drumhowan Coleraine, UU
Aaron Ferris Antrim Lamh Dhearg Jordanstown UU
Ciaran magill Antrim Shane O’Neills Glenarm Jordanstown UU
Danaan McKeogh Antrim St. Johns Jordanstown UU
Ryan Convery Antrim Roger Casements Portglenone Jordanstown UU
Adam Markey Armagh Dromintee Jordanstown UU
Aidan Harney Armagh Pearse Og Armagh Jordanstown UU
Eoghan McArdle Armagh Middletown Jordanstown UU
Eoin McConvey Armagh Tir na nOg Portadown Jordanstown UU
Ronan Mallon Armagh St Colmcilles Grange Jordanstown UU
Ciaran Moore Donegal St Eunans Jordanstown UU
Adam Aicken Down East Belfast Jordanstown UU
Paige smyth Down Rgu Downpatrick Jordanstown UU
Tom Close Down Clonduff Jordanstown UU
Aodhan Donaghy Tyrone Loughmacrory Jordanstown UU
Conall Devlin Tyrone Dungannon Clarkes Jordanstown UU
Niall Quinn Donegal Robert Emmets Mageee, UU
Ruairi O’Brien Fermanagh Devenish St.Marys Mageee, UU
Aoibhan Conlon Tyrone Pomeroy Plunketts Mageee, UU
David Robinson Antrim St. Johns Queens, Belfast
Louis Boyd Antrim Naomh Eoin Queens, Belfast
Luke Duffy Antrim St Agnes Queens, Belfast
Patrick Friel Antrim Naomh Gall Queens, Belfast
Aaron O’Neill Armagh Killeavy Queens, Belfast
Adam Murtagh Armagh Cuchulainns Armagh Queens, Belfast
Fionntain Oliver Armagh Cuchulainns Armagh Queens, Belfast
Conaire Molloy Derry St Marys Slaughtmanus Queens, Belfast
Diarmuid Baker Derry Steelstown Brian Ogs Queens, Belfast
Emer Coyle Derry Michael Davitt’s Swatragh Queens, Belfast
John McAllister Derry Ballinascreen Queens, Belfast
Michael McCormack Derry Swatragh Queens, Belfast
Rachel Foy Donegal Robert Emmets Queens, Belfast
Eimear Fitzpatrick Down Burren Queens, Belfast
Emma McVeigh Down Burren Queens, Belfast
Hannah Dorrian Down Ballygalget Queens, Belfast
Liam Campbell Down Ballyholland Queens, Belfast
Kayleigh Bradley-West Fermanagh Tempo Maguires Queens, Belfast
Bronagh Laverty Antrim Con Magees Glenravel St. Mary’s, Belfast
Cormac McGettigan Antrim O’Donovan Rossa St. Mary’s, Belfast
Ella Wilson Antrim Naomh Gall St. Mary’s, Belfast
Killian Burke Antrim Kickhams Creggan St. Mary’s, Belfast
Maeve Kelly Antrim McQuillans Ballycastle St. Mary’s, Belfast
Adam Henderson Armagh Clan na Gael St. Mary’s, Belfast
Faye Fitzpatrick Armagh Crossmaglen Rangers St. Mary’s, Belfast
Conan Milne Derry Bellaghy St. Mary’s, Belfast
Dara Mooney Derry Eoghan Rua Coleraine St. Mary’s, Belfast
Dearbhla McGuckian Derry Watty Grahams Glen St. Mary’s, Belfast
Eimear-Rose Boyle Derry Ballinascreen St. Mary’s, Belfast
Ellen Somerville Down Burren St. Mary’s, Belfast
Claire Teague Fermanagh Lisnaskea Emmetts St. Mary’s, Belfast
Shanna Cassidy Fermanagh Belnaleck Art McMurrough St. Mary’s, Belfast
Aodhan McConnell Tyrone Glenelly St. Josephs St. Mary’s, Belfast
Meabh Corrigan Tyrone Errigal Ciaran St. Mary’s, Belfast
Name  County  Club  College 
Eoghan Gormley Derry Limavady Dundee, Robert Gordon University
Joe McKee Down Bredagh Glasgow
Eliza O’Gorman Monaghan Carrick Emmets Glasgow
Liam Mathers Down Mayobridge Liverpool John Moores
Donal Doherty Donegal Carndonagh TU Dublin
Odhran Cunningham Cavan Kingscourt stars TUS Midwest (Thurles)
Liam Rafferty Down Newry Shamrocks UCD
By Sinéad Breen Donegal PRO Fri 28th Apr

Related News

View All

Main Sponsor

Our Sponsors