Admin Login

Three Donegal students awarded Ulster GAA Bursary

By Sinéad Breen Donegal PRO Fri 15th Apr

Three Donegal students awarded Ulster GAA Bursary
Three Donegal students awarded Ulster GAA Bursary

Three of the forty-seven Higher Education students from across Ulster awarded bursaries as part of the 2021/22 Ulster GAA Student Bursary Scheme are from Donegal. Comhghairdeas to Joey Gillespie, Ross Marley and Cormac Finn.


This is 14th year that Comhairle Uladh CLG has committed to the National Student Bursary Scheme, with a budget of €30,000 being set aside for the award. The scheme is open to members of the Association attending a full-time undergraduate course at a university or third level college, and who are active participants in their Higher Education club. Recipients were selected based on a range of criteria, including their playing, coaching or administrative commitments to the GAA, with a particular emphasis on those excelling in the areas of coaching and administration within HE Colleges GAA. A total of 256 applications were received, with 47 students recommended for an award with a bursary of €635 each, equating to a total award of €29,845.


The list of successful applicants is provided below


Name County Club College
Aaron Courtney Monaghan Donaghmoyne DCU
Joey Gillespie Donegal Naomh Muire Íochtar na Rosann DCU
Ross Ó Mearlaigh Donegal CLG Ghleann Fhinne DCU
Aine McCabe Down St. John Bosco Newry Liverpool Hope University
Brendan McKey Down Dromara GAC Liverpool Hope University
Cormac Finn Donegal St Eunan’s Maynooth university
Adam Connolly Tyrone Kildress Wolfe Tones Queen’s University Belfast
Ardan McAvoy Down St Mary’s Burren Queen’s University Belfast
Cathal Donnelly Derry St Colm’s Ballinascreen Queen’s University Belfast
Cathal Gorman Down Newry Shamrocks GAC Queen’s University Belfast
Ciara Mullan Tyrone Carrickmore Queen’s University Belfast
Fintan Canavan Down Bryansford GAC Queen’s University Belfast
Lorcán Deery Monaghan Scotstown Queen’s University Belfast
Malachy Campbell Antrim Sarsfields Queen’s University Belfast
Michael Morgan Antrim QUB GAA Handball Queen’s University Belfast
Oran Mallon Tyrone Dungannon Thomas Clarke’s Queen’s University Belfast
Ruairi McGowan Tyrone Killyclogher st Mary’s Queen’s University Belfast
Sean McCarthy Armagh Clann Eireann Queen’s University Belfast
Anton McGrath Antrim Dunloy Cuchullains St Mary’s University College Belfast
Conor McConville Armagh Clann Eireann St Mary’s University College Belfast
Cormac Smyth Armagh Mullaghbawn St Mary’s University College Belfast
Dáire Stevenson Antrim Naomh Pól Béal Feirste St Mary’s University College Belfast
Daniel McKibbin Down Bryansford St Mary’s University College Belfast
Michéal McCarville Monaghan Scotstown GAA St Mary’s University College Belfast
Paddy Quigg Derry Kilrea Pearses GAC St Mary’s University College Belfast
Steven Magennis Antrim St Brigids Belfast St Mary’s University College Belfast
Aisling Kennedy Derry Ballinascreen Stranmillis University College
Michael O’Brien Monaghan Emyvale The Robert Gordon University
Peter Campbell Down Newry Mitchels Trinity College Dublin
Annie Crozier Derry St Trea’s Ballymaguigan Ulster University
Dónal Carney Down Darragh Cross Ulster University
Emer Bradley Derry St Malachys GAC Castledawson Ulster University
Emmett McLaughlin Tyrone Castlederg St Eugenes Ulster University
Kimberley Burke Derry Kilrea Ulster University
Kyle Campbell Armagh Peadar O’Doirnins Forkhill Ulster University
Lucia Warnock Fermanagh Tempo Maguires Ulster University
Megan O’Boyle Down Castlewellan Ulster University
Pól McKervey Fermanagh Ederney Ulster University
Ruairi Gormley Tyrone Strabane sigersons Ulster University
Sean Reilly Armagh Pearse Ógs Ulster University
Oisín Smyth Fermanagh Derrygonnelly Harps University of Dundee
James Lynch Derry Steelstown Brian Ógs University of Dundee
Aoife McQuaid Fermanagh St Molaise, Irvinestown University of Liverpool
Caoimhe Mullan Derry Camogie – Lavey/ LGFA – Glen University of Liverpool
Jack McCullagh Tyrone Dungannon Thomas Clarkes University of Liverpool
Alice Collins Derry O’Donovan Rossa magherafelt University of Liverpool
Oisin Harkin Tyrone Clann na nGael University of Liverpool
By Sinéad Breen Donegal PRO Fri 15th Apr

Related News

View All

Main Sponsor

Our Sponsors