Admin Login

Setanta cruise to Senior Championship Hurling County Final

By Sinéad Breen Donegal PRO Sat 10th Aug

Setanta cruise to Senior Championship Hurling County Final
Setanta cruise to Senior Championship Hurling County Final

Setanta                                     4-19

Buncrana                                1-12

The first game in a double-header of county Senior hurling semi-finals last night was between Setanta and a young Buncrana side reaching this stage of the championship for the first time. Setanta started the game at a furious pace and by the 15th minute were 1.6 to 0.3 up. Buncrana were struggling to get into the game and by the 23rd minute Setanta had stretched their lead to 2.10 to 0.4. Struggling all over the pitch Buncrana were heavily reliant on Jack O’Loughlin’s free taking and attacking play. In the last few minutes of the first half Buncrana began to come into the game a little more but were left with a lot to do with a half-time score of Setanta 2.12 to Buncrana 0.7.

Buncrana started the second half strongly but struggled to convert possession into scores. Buncrana hit two points but Setanta replied with a point followed by a goal from Mark Devine. However, Buncrana were not beaten yet Dylan Duffy broke through for a goal followed by another point. Buncrana were threatening for the first time in game to make real inroads into Setanta’s lead however first Buncrana hit the post and then put a close-in shot wide and only had another Jack O’Loughlin’s point as reward from their efforts. From the 12th minute on in the second half Setanta rattled off another 1.5 from Kevin Campbell and Davin Flynn to ease to a comfortable victory.


Tom Clare, Matt Wilson, Aedan Stokes, Oisin Hegarty, James Doherty, Sam Doherty, Conor Grant, PJ Mc Carron (0.1), Paul Nelson, Ben Doherty, Jack O’Loughlin (0.8), Oisin Grant, Dylan Duffy (1.3), Declan Mc Carron, Darren Doherty, Niall Doherty, Daniel Wilson (18 mins), Patrick Wilson (47 min), Aaron Craig, Paul Tourish, Lee Duffy, Daniel Deery, John Campbell, John Vaughan.


Ciaran Bellew, Alan McConnell, Simon Mc Menamin, Denim Rowan, Steven Mc Bride, Martin Bonner, Niall Cleary (0.1), Richard Kee (0.1), Michael Donoghue, Bernard Lafferty (0.2), Danny Cullen (0.1), Gerard Gilmore (0.1), Mark Devine (2.0), Davin Flynn (2.2), Kevin Campbell (0.9), Dylan Linton, Justin Mc Bride (49 mins), Conor Mc Gettigan (59 mins), Josh McGee, Gary McGettigan, Pauric Moss ( 59 mins), Ciaran O’Neill, Mark Kane, Brendan Tourish, Brendan o Brien, Declan Coulter, Shaun Anderson, Mark Callaghan.


James Connors


By Sinéad Breen Donegal PRO Sat 10th Aug

Related News

View All

Main Sponsor

Our Sponsors