Admin Login

Wins go with form in Jimmy McGlynn Catering Division 4

By Sinéad Breen Donegal PRO Mon 1st Jul

Wins go with form in Jimmy McGlynn Catering Division 4
Wins go with form in Jimmy McGlynn Catering Division 4

The top four teams in Jimmy McGlynn Catering Division 4 all won at the weekend with none of the four games even close. While fifth place Carndonagh did match Urris for the number of scores, the home team hit seven goals for an emphatic win with Kevin McLaughlin accounting for 3-3 of their total.


Urris                                            7-6            Carndonagh                            1-12

Pettigo                                        2-6            Na Rossa                                  4-18

Naomh Pádraig, Muff              1-5            Letterkenny Gaels                  2-11

Naomh Pádraig, Lifford         0-4            Moville                                       1-8


In our featured game at a wind-swept Pettigo, Na Rossa had a facile 4-18 to 2-6 win over the hosts to maintain their determined push for promotion from Jimmy McGlynn Catering Division 4. It was a close enough affair in the first half but even against the wind, Na Rossa still led by 2-4 to 1-5 at the break.


The game had a lively opening with John Kane pointing for the hosts after two minutes. Then after five minutes, John Paul Breslin, after receiving a pinpoint pass from Aidan Mc Hugh, was upended in the square. Aidan Mc Hugh duly converted the penalty. After twenty minutes, Pettigo got a lucky break when Na Rossa goalkeeper, Ryan Mc Gonagle, was adjudged to have stepped over the goal line with the ball and Pettigo were awarded a goal. Pettigo did put it up to Na Rossa in that first half until just before half time when a piledriver from John Paul Breslin was parried by Pettigo keeper, Adam  McBarron, only for Mark Bonner to finish to the net to leave Na Rossa ahead by two points at half time.


With the strong wind at their back in the second half, Na Rossa dominated proceedings and added two further goals from Aidan Mc Hugh and Conor Mc Cahill. Pettigo were awarded a penalty in the second half when Paddy Carr was upended in the square and Jarlath Leonard duly converted but they only managed one further point from their best player, Aidy Britton


Pettigo: Adam Mc Barron; Eoin Cross, Enda Baird, Aaron Cox;John Kane (0-1),Paddy Carr, Aidy Britton (0-3); Ciaran Mc Gee (0-1),Kevin Kane(1-1); Damien Carr, Jarlath Leonard (1-0), Colm Mc Farland; Pauric Colton, Paul Murphy, Marty Hilley.  Subs: Cathal Mc Grath for Pauric Colton; Kevin Kelly for Colm Mc Farland.


Na Rossa: Ryan Mc Gonagle; Peter Gallagher, Daniel Melly, Jamie Mc Cready; John Ward, Christian Bonner (0-3), Adam Mc Hugh; Eugene Molloy, Conor Mc Cahill (1-3); Keelin Devenney, Eamonn Bonner (0-3), Mark Bonner (1-0); JP Breslin, Aidan Mc Hugh (2-9 5f), Conor Bonner. Subs : Michael Mc Monagle for JP Breslin. Donal Trimble for Keelin Devenney.



Jimmy McGlynn Catering Division 4

Moville 10 8 1 1 197 130 67 17
Letterkenny Gaels 9 8 0 1 192 113 79 16
Na Rossa 9 8 0 1 138 84 54 16
Urris 10 6 1 3 202 133 69 13
Carndomhnaigh 9 5 0 4 150 115 35 10
Naomh Pádraig Uisce Chaoin 10 4 0 6 132 157 -25 8
Pettigo 10 1 1 8 127 206 -79 3
Roibéard Éiméid 9 0 2 7 111 203 -92 2
Naomh Pádraig Leifear 10 0 1 9 65 173 -108 1


By Sinéad Breen Donegal PRO Mon 1st Jul

Related News

View All

Main Sponsor

Our Sponsors