Admin Login

Carn win Top of the Table Clash in Ballyshannon

By Sinéad Breen Donegal PRO Sat 25th May

Carn win Top of the Table Clash in Ballyshannon
Carn win Top of the Table Clash in Ballyshannon

In the Senior Hurling League on Friday evening Burt narrowly beat Sean MacCumhaill’s 1-17 to 4-7, while St Eunan’s won on a score of 0-8 to 1-14 in Buncrana. In our featured game in Ballyshannon, Carn won the top of the Table clash in the junior hurling league.


Aodh Ruadh 0-11

Carndonagh 1-12

This seventh round league game between these two sides was always going to be decisive in determining where the league title was heading. With Carndonagh taking the points in Pairc Ui Dhochartaigh back in April, this game was going to be hard to call.

The home team opened the scoring with a point but this was quickly followed by a Carndonagh goal – a score that was crucila in eventually ensuring victory for the visitors in the the end. Aodh Ruadh replied with two points before Carndonagh restored the lead. Oisin Rooney and Cathal Doherty then exchanged four points each to leave the half time score, Aodh Ruadh 0-7 Carndonagh 1-5.


Both teams started the second half on a high tempo. Again the home team got the opening score but the visitors took control of the game scoring six points in succession. In the last quarter Aodh Ruadh came more into the game reducing the lead to three points. The home team put pressure on for that much needed goal but scores from Darragh McCormick and John O Donnell extended Carn’s lead.  An Oisin Rooney free for Aodh Ruadh was the last score of the game and Carndonagh headed home with a  hard fought victory.


Overall this was a great display of hurling for the junior league and  goes a long way to promote this great national game in the county. This league provides hurling for players that otherwise would not  be gaining this experience.

Aodh Ruadh: Ryan O Brien, Rossa McCosker, Patrick Haran, Peter Horan, Stephen Anderson, Eugene Drummond, Adam Rami, Rooney, Brendan Gillispie, Pauric Keenaghan, Ciaran Kilgannon,Oisin Roper, Thomas Gallagher, Cian Duffy, Ryan Ayres Subs: Brian Patton, Rory Cullen, Stephen Connolly, Conall Sweeny,

Carndonagh: Keelan White, Michael Doherty, Mark Diver, P J Walker, Dermot Doherty, James Monagle, Ryan Davenport, Cathal Doherty, Cormac Monagle, Paddy Monagle, John O Donnell, Darragh McCormick, Conal Doogan, Christopher McCormick, Conor Fagan, Subs Stephen Friel, Dermot McGonagle, Aidan Kelly, Darrhanen Kelly, Darragh McWilliams, Danny McCarron, Fergal Bradley and Nathan McLarkey.


Senior Hurling League

Setanta 4 4 0 0 72 41 31 8
An Beart 4 3 0 1 66 59 7 6
Naomh Ádhamhnáin 4 2 0 2 64 69 -5 4
Bun Cranncha 6 2 0 4 69 95 -26 4
Sean Mac Cumhaill 4 0 0 4 51 58 -7 0



By Sinéad Breen Donegal PRO Sat 25th May

Related News

View All

Main Sponsor

Our Sponsors