Admin Login

Three U21 “All Star” Awards for Donegal

By Sinéad Breen Donegal PRO Mon 22nd May

Three U21 “All Star” Awards for Donegal
Three U21 “All Star” Awards for Donegal

All Star award winners Eoghan Bán Gallagher, Micheál Carroll and Michael Langan receiving their U21 All Star awards from Niall Erskine, member of national GAA management, Michael Hassan, Ulster President, Seamus O Domhnaill, member of National Management of GAA and Ulster GAA PRO Michael Geoghan.

Donegal trio of Eoghan Ban Gallagher, Michael Carroll and Michael Langan were yesterday awarded their Awards by members of the GAA National Management Committee members Niall Erskine, Michael Hasson and Michael Langan together with Michael Geoghegan Ulster GAA PRO, after Donegal seniors had won their Quarter Final game against Antrim

EirGrid, proud sponsors of the U21 All-Ireland Football Championship, today revealed details of the top 21 players of this year’s competition through the ‘EirGrid 21 Under 21 Awards’ with Aaron Byrne from Dublin awarded the EirGrid U21 Player of the Year.

These awards, now in their third year, are run by EirGrid to recognise the outstanding talent at this age grade. The Gaelic Writers Association and EirGrid ambassador Seán Cavanagh selected the top 21 players of the Championship with the EirGrid U21 Player of the Year chosen through a public vote.

This year, the three nominees for the EirGrid U21 Player of the Year were Dublin duo Aaron Byrne and Brian Howard and Galway’s Seán Andy Ó Ceallaigh. Fans casted their vote on the official GAA Facebook, Twitter and Instagram pages between Tuesday 16th and Thursday 18th May. Aaron Byrne from Dublin took the title, receiving 4,315 votes (46%

Three of the award winners coming from Ulster champions Donegal (Eoghan Bán Gallagher, Michael Carroll and Michael Langan).

Uachtarán Chumann Lúthchleas Gael Aogán Ó Fearghail said: “I’d like to congratulate all of the 21 nominees following this year’s EirGrid U21 Football Championship.

“2017 was historic as it was the final occasion this competition was played at the U21 age grade. These players from across the country should be proud to be named in this group as their names and achievements will now forever be associated in the history books with this superb competition. Comhghairdeas le gach duine.”

EirGrid 21 U21’s

•Evan Comerford – Dublin
•Ronán Ó Beoláin – Galway

•Eoin Murchan – Dublin
•Cian Murphy – Dublin
•Cillian O’Shea – Dublin
•Sean Andy Ó Ceallaigh – Galway
•Cillian McDaid – Galway
•Brian Ó Beaglaoich – Kerry
•Eoghan Bán Gallagher – Donegal

•Brian Howard – Dublin
•Andrew Barry – Kerry
•Peter Cooke – Galway
•Darragh Cummins – Sligo

•Aaron Byrne – Dublin
•Con O’Callaghan – Dublin
•Glenn O’Reilly – Dublin
•Michael Carroll – Donegal
•Michael Langan – Donegal
•Michael Daly – Galway
•Matthew Flaherty – Kerry
•Shane Tierney – Offaly

By Sinéad Breen Donegal PRO Mon 22nd May

Related News

View All

Main Sponsor

Our Sponsors