Admin Login

St Eunans Minors Come Back To Win A Cracker

By Sinéad Breen Donegal PRO Thu 27th Apr

 MacCumhaill 0-13 v 2-10 St. Eunans. 

The first final of the season took place in Convoy last Tuesday evening and what a cracker it was.                                                                                                                                                                                       Two late goals by wing forward Louis Hassan saw St.Eunans grab victory from the jaws of defeat in Convoy . After the teams had been level at 0-06 points apiece at the break MacCumhaill had dominated the first 22mins of the second-half to lead by five points, 0-13 to 0-08 and looked to be heading for victory.However despite missing a couple of good goal chances St.Eunans kept trying and were rewarded with two goals by Louis Hassan in the 54th and 59th minutes to grab a dramatic victory. Niall Hannigan kicked four points for Eunans in the opening half, while Oisín Gallen 0-3 and Chad Mc Sorley 0-2 for MacCumhaill’s. In the first 22 minutes of the second-half Gallen added four more points with further scores from Jamie Keegan, Luke Gavigan and Alex Mc Geehin, while Ronan Mc Geehin and Peter Mc Eniff replied for Eunans to leave it 0-13 to 0-08 in MacCumhaill’s favour. Eunans had gone close to grabbing goals in a one minute spell in the 45th minute, one effort was cleared off the line and another hit the inside of the post. They finally got that vital goal in the 54th minute when Louis Hassan slammed home from close range and then points by Eoin Mc Geehin and Niall Hannigan’s fifth of the game had them level. Then in the final minute of normal time Matthew Mc Govern won possession inside and set up Hassan who hammered the ball to the net for a dramatic winning goal and break the MacCumhaill’s hearts.                                                                                                                                                                                                       St.Eunans; Eoin 0 Boyle, Jerome Atuahene, James Kelly, Ciaran Mc Closkey, Ryan Hilferty, Aaron Deeney, Peter Mc Eniff, Paddy Mc Colgan, Michael Mc Grory, Louis Hassan, Neil Hannigan, Eoin Mc Geehin, Cormac Finn, Matthew Mc Govern, Ronan Mc Geehin. Subs; Oisín Mc Garvey for Finn ( 45mins ), Oisín Purdy for Ronan Mc Geehin ( 55mins), Darragh Morrison for McGovern ( 60mins ).                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                      MacCumhaills; Cian Gallen, Kelvin O Brien, Chris Gallagher, Aaron Gilolley, Jack Burke, Luke Gavigan, Rory Mulligan, Conor Lillis, Fintan Griffen, Austin Duignan, Jamie Keegan, Chad Mc Sorley, Oisín Gallen, Anthony Bruton, Alex Mc Geehin. Sub; Matthew Doherty for O Brien ( 55 mins ).

By Sinéad Breen Donegal PRO Thu 27th Apr

Related News

View All

Main Sponsor

Our Sponsors