Admin Login

Ballyshannon GAA Club Notes 17/09/2015

By Sinéad Breen Donegal PRO Thu 17th Sep


Aodh Ruadh and Milford will have to do it again after they played out a pulsating 1-10 to 0-13 draw in Convoy in the intermediate championship quarter-final. The game ebbed and flowed with a Seamus Kane in the first half kick-starting an Aodh Ruadh surge which saw them take the lead. Milford had the better of the second half and took the lead late on, but points from David Dolan and Sticky Ward gave Aodh Ruadh the lead and seemingly a place in the last four. However Milford got a late free to level it and force the last eight game to a replay. We have a full report and pictures from the game up on

Aodh Ruadh return to league action this Saturday with a trip to Killygordon to take on Red Hugh’s with points absolutely crucial. Throw-in for the senior game is 6pm. That will be preceded by the reserves at 4.30pm.

First presented to Aodh Ruadh in 1976, the Frank O Neill Cup has been awarded for a variety of competitions. It was re-launched last year for a football tournament for under 16 and under 14 players in the Aodh Ruadh area and was won by a team captained by Daniel Warnock. The tournament is open to all club members and those who are not members, but would like to get involved. It will be played over two days. Team captains and players are listed below, but any players born 1999-2002 who would like to play are warmly invited to let a team captain or vice captain know. Additional players who get their names in before September 24th will be placed on one of the teams.

Matteo Rivenna (Captain), Conall Sweeny, Odhran Kennedy, Paddy McCaffrey, JC McGarrigle, Mark McGlynn, James Sheerin, Adam Rami, Eugene Doherty, Caolan Flood-Dolan, Daniel Dolan, Jack Brosnan.

Odhran O’Neill (Captain), Cian McGloin, Mark Gallagher, Pauric Keenaghan, Eoin Doherty, Tiernan Flood-Dolan, Aaron Duffy, Harry Howarth, Philip Cassidy, David Doherty, Diarmuid McFadden, Jack McCaffrey.

Stephen Anderson (Captain), Sean Taylor, Shane Gillespie, Senan Rooney, Shane Dorrian, Ryan McDonald, Cian Barden, Jason Patterson, Garbhan McCloskey, Nathan Owens-Kelly, Donagh McGowan, Frankie McGinley.

Ronan McMullin (Captain), Dylan Gallagher, Michael McKenna, Evan McTernan, Adam Clarke, JJ Goan, Odhran McGarrigle, Niall Monaghan, Mark Gethins, Ciaran Hodgkins, Diarmuid Ryan, Shane Brady.

The under 13s are away to Killybegs this Tuesday, 15th September. Players to meet at park at 4.45pm. We will need parents to assist with transport to the game so we would welcome all help on that front.

Huge thanks to Hugh John, Mary and all the gang at the Castle Adventure Open Farm from the under 8 team. All the players had a load of fun and enjoyed a great afternoon there on Saturday. The under 8s won the trip after their great performance in the Euroshot Challenge. Inclemement weather meant we had to call off training on Friday, so we made our skills test presentations after our session in the Castle Adventure Open Farm. The medal winners were as follows. 2007 Skills Test Winners: 1st Odhran Gillespie; 2nd Barry Campbell; 3rd Garvey Meade. 2008 Skills Test Winners: 1st Eoghan Gallagher; 2nd Corey Sheridan; 3rd Daithí Sheerin. 2009 Skills Test Winners 1st Tomás Keown; 2nd Shaun McGarrigle. Most improved from 2014: 1st Liam Doogan; 2nd Darragh O’Mahoney; 3rd Donagh Kelly; 4th Cormac Finnegan. Under 8 training as usual this Friday from 6.30pm. Under 8 management will be collecting €20 for the trip to Galway from this week’s training onwards.


The underage hurling season is coming to an end. The last team in competitive action, our under 16s have a very difficult game this Thursday, as they take on a super Buncrana team in the championship semi-final in Father Tierney Park, throw in 6.30pm. Hopefully the lads will give it their all as they have done all season.

The annual under 12 Aodh Ó Dálaigh Tournament takes place on Sunday 4th October. A full list of competing teams will be published nearer the date.


The Aodh Ruadh under 13s made the long trip to Glencolumbcille with 40 players on Saturday. They made the journey all worthwhile recording a good win. After trailing at half-time the Shamettes were able to use the strong following wind to run up a good score and take the victory by a handsome margin. Among the scorers for Aodh Ruadh were Bridín Maguire, Roisín Daly, Caoimhe Keon, Leah O’Brien Aine Hill and Niamh Hughes. Ella Clancy did very well in midfield, while in defence there were strong performances from Alicia Clyne, Caitlyn McGarrigle and Lucy McGlynn. The girls are back in action this Saturday at Father Tierney Park when they entertain Four Masters. Throw-in is at 11am.

Abbey Centre Bingo

Last week’s €400 bingo jackpot was won by Anne Gallagher, Ballyshannon. Bingo as usual this Friday at 9pm at the Abbey Centre. Books priced at just €10.

Aodh Ruadh Lotto

There was no winner of last week’s Aodh Ruadh Lotto jackpot of €1,100. The winning numbers drawn were 2, 5, 8, 9, 12 and 14. In the lucky dip €20 went to Eleanor Rooney, Corker; Pauric Bromley, Knather Road; Mary McHale, The Mall; John McFadden, Pettigo; Bernard Drummond, Rock. Next draw in Dicey Reilly’s with a Jackpot of €1,200 on Sunday at 8.30pm.

The lotto team for McCosker’s Centra this Saturday is: BORD NA NÓG.

You can receive the club notes by e-mail every Tuesday morning. To subscribe, enter your details on the website,, or e-mail your request to

By Sinéad Breen Donegal PRO Thu 17th Sep

Related News

View All

Main Sponsor

Our Sponsors