St Eunans win the Tadgh Culbert Cup

St Eunan’s 5-9

Burt          1-7


On  Thursday 11th July, St Eunans and Burt lined out in the Minor B final in the Scarvey Buncrana GAA. Conditions were ideal for the two teams who know each other well after a few meetings, and who had played together on Donegals U17 team this season. Burt started brightly with the opening point by Conor Gartland. However, the game went into a finely balanced state over the next 10 minutes with both teams full backs dominating the forwards play, with both St Eunan’s Keenan Barrett and Burt’s Darius McColgan giving exemplary displays of hurling. Russel Ford opened the St Eunans account with a finely taken goal, and frees from St Eunans Paul O Donnell opened a gap over the Burt men. Frees and scores from Burt narrowed that lead. Further goals from St Eunan’s Chris Murray gave them a 5 point lead at half time but that is a dangerous lead in a hurling game. The second half started as intense as the first ended, and it was several minutes before any team could score. However St Eunans slowly got to grips with the game and picked off points and goals from a number of players. St Eunans finished winners 5-9 to 1-7 and added the Minor B Tadgh Culbert cup to the A-League cup that they have already won this season.


St Eunans: 1. Cian Harkin, 2. Matthew Noonan, 3. Keenan Barret (Captain), 4. Mark Mulholland, 5.Kieran Browne, 6. Eoin Dowling, 7. Liam Dowling, 8.Oisin Randles, 9. Thomas Crossan, 10.Peter Kelly, 11. Paul O Donnell, 12. Gavin Forde, 13. Chris Murray, 14. Johnny Lambe, 15. Russel Forde, 17. Damien Whoriskey, 18. JP Curran, 19. David Kilcullen

Burt: 1.James Doherty, 2. James Donaghey, 3. Darius McColgan, 4. Paraic Curran, 5. Josh Coyle, 6. Oisin Kelly, 7. Ciaran Curran, 8. Conor Gartland, 9. Jack Lavery, 10. Jack Coyle, 11. Kevin Curran, 12. Jack Gallagher, 13.Liam McKinney, 14. Matthew Green, 15. Colm Toner.