Format for the Ulster Minor Football Championship

The 2019 Ulster Minor Football Championship competition sees the continuation of the ‘Back Door Format’ so please note that the draw for Qualifier Round 1, Round 2 and Qualifier Round 2 will take place on Saturday 27th April immediately after all Round 1 games have been played.  This will ensure that counties are aware of who and when they play in the next round.


Electric Ireland Minor (Under 17) Football Championship

The first team drawn will receive home advantage up to and including Round 1. CCC reserve the right to assign the venue. All games up to and including Qualifiers Round 3 are Finish on the Day.

Sat 20th April Preliminary Round (6.00pm)

  • Muineachan V An Dun at Clones – Monaghan won this game on a 1-13 to 1-10 scoreline.

Sat 27th April Round 1 (6.00pm)

(b) An Cabhan V Fear Manach at Kingspan Breffni

(c) Ard Mhacha V Doire at Athletic Grounds

(d) Dun na nGall V Tir Eoghain at Pairc Mac Cumhaill

(e) Aontroim V (a) Muineachan / An Dun

If Aontroim V Muineachán at Corrigan Park; If An Dún V Aontroim at Pairc Esler


Sat 4th May: Qualifiers R1 (6.00pm)

(Losers of (a), (b), (c), (d) and (e) – should the winners of (a) lose in (e), they will be excluded from this Round)

  1.    V 2.                       (loser eliminated)

If a team drawn were at home in Round 1 they will be away in Qualifier Round 1 and vice versa.  If both teams drawn in this round were both at home or both away in previous games, the first team drawn out would have home advantage.


Sat 11th May / Sun 12th May: Round 2 (Open Draw – 4 Winners of Round 1)

(1)                              V

(2)                              V


Qualifiers R2 (Remaining three losers not drawn in Qualifiers R1, plus Qualifier R1 winners) 

(3)                        V                                       (loser eliminated)

(4)                        V                                         (loser eliminated)


Sat 18th May / Sun 19th May: Qualifiers R3 (Two Round 2 losers V two Qualifiers R2 winners) 

(1)                        V                                       (loser eliminated)

(2)                        V                                       (loser eliminated)


Fri 21st – Sun 23rd June: Semi Finals (Two Round 2 winners V two Qualifiers R3 winners) 

(1)                       V                                       (loser eliminated)

(2)                       V                                       (loser eliminated)


Sat 13th / Sun 14th July: Final 


Finish on the Day protocol – All games up to and including Qualifiers Round 3 are Finish on the Day. There will be two periods of extra time, ten minutes each way and if still level then the game will be decided based on penalty kicks (goals only).