Comhghairdeas Termon, the 2019 @GoEnergy_Power Division 1 Minor Champions

It was billed as a close and exciting struggle between the two best minor teams in the County, both coming into the final unbeaten, and so it proved. When Stiofán Mac Phaidín hit Gaoth Dobhair’s second goal midway through the first half to leave them 2-1 to 0-1 ahead, however, it looked ominous for Termon. With time on their side, they rallied well to leave just four points between the sides, 2-2 to 0-4, at the break.


It took a while before the scoreboard starting ticking again in the second half but when it did it was Termon who were dominant, closing the gap steadily until the teams were level 2-3 to 0-9 with 5 minutes remaining.  Gaoth Dobhair responded well to hit the front again as full-time approached. As the game entered added time, two Aaron Reid frees put Termon ahead for the only time since they opened the scoring in the early minutes. With Gaoth Dobhair pressing for an equalizer, Termon broke upfield and Mark Gallagher netted to secure the title on a 1-11 to 2-4 scoreline.


Gaoth Dobhair scorers: Fiachra Mac Giolla Choill (1-0), Stiofán Mac Phaidín (1-0), Stiofán Mac Phaidi (0-2), Cathal Mac Giolla Easbuic (0-1) and Fionnan Mac Giolla Choill (0-1).


An Tearmáinn scorers: Aaron Reid (0-5), Ryan McFadden (0-4), Mark Gallagher (1-0) Jamie Grant (0-1) and Jack Alcorn (0-1).