Comhghairdeas Letterkenny Gaels – the 2022 @MMurphysports Junior A champions

Congratulations to Letterkenny Gaels who were finally crowned @MMurphySports Junior A champions having lost both the 2020 and 2021 finals. The Gaels came from five points behind at one stage in the first half to defeat a brave Carndonagh team who had their chances to ensure at least another day out as they missed three opportunities to equalise in added time before Gaels had the final say with a late Brian Diver point.



Coming up to the break a fluent and accurate Carn attack had the Inishowen men leading by 0-7 to 0-2. A late rally from the Letterkenny men reduced the half-time deficit to just three, 0-7 to 0-4. As in the earlier B game the Gaels dominated much of the second half. A lone Ryan Kelly point was the only Carn score in the first 25 minutes as Conor McBrearty (4), Sean Mac Donagh, Shay Doherty and Ronan Frain all found their range to move Gaels into a commanding 0-11 to 0-8 lead.


It looked like curtains for Carn when Brian Diver got on the end of a slick Gaels attack but his well struck shot hit the base of the post and the let-off stirred Carn out of their turpor. An Anthony Doherty point narrowed the gap and they looked odds on to take the lead but a super Ryan Graham save from Conor O’Donnell denied them. Carn were now in the ascendancy though but while a Fergal Doherty free brought them within a point sloppy finishing ensured they did not close the gap and Diver’s late point sealed the 0-12 to 0-10 win for the Letterkenny team.