Ádh mór LYIT

Good luck to LYIT, winners of the Trench Cup last year, today when they play their first ever Sigerson Cup game against Athlone Institute of Technology. The winner of this game go on to meet either Sligo IT or UL, who also play today, in the next round. The losers go to a relegation playoff against either Carlow IT or IT Tralee.


The squad is predominantly made up of Donegal club men, includes County panellists Michael Lynch, Peadar Mogan, Eoghan McGettigan and Michael Langan, and are managed by Donegal captain Michael Murphy. The full squad is : Liam Jackson (St Mary’s, Louth), Niall Meegan (Donaghmoyne, Monaghan) , Sean Neary (Bonniconlon, Mayo), Mark Mooney (Tyholland (Monaghan) , Michael Lynch (Naomh Colmcille), Steve McDaid (Termon), Caolan Gallagher (Termon), Liam Kelly (St Michael’s), Caomhin Marley (Glenswilly), Adam McElwaine (Termon), Matthew Duffy (Bundoran), Peadar Mogan (St Nauls), Paddy Dolan (St Mary’s, Convoy), Bryan McNamee (St Mary’s, Convoy), Eoghan McGettigan (Naomh Conaill), Shay Doherty (Letterkenny Gaels), Darragh Black (Milford), John Campbell (Buncrana), Ryan McFadden (Termon), Daniel Brennan (St Nauls), Emmet Lynch (St Eunan’s), Nathan Fowell (Termon), Christian Bonner (Na Rossa), Mark McAteer (Fanad), Michael Langan (St Michael’s), Eoin McGing (Killybegs), Bernard McGettigan (Fanad), Mark McAteer (Glenswilly).



LYIT had three pre-Christmas league outings, losing against Queens University, UUJ and St Mary’s Belfast. Athlone have home advantage and like LYIT they failed to win any of their pre-Christmas league matches but their margin of defeat was heavier than for the LYIT men. Throw-in is at 2.00 pm.