Comhghairdeas Naomh Ultan 2022 Junior B Champions

Letterkenny Gaels dominated much of today’s Junior B final in O’Donnell Park but the ability to create and score goals proved more important on the day as a jubilant Naomh Ultan were crowned Michael Murphy Sports and Leisure Junior B champions for 2022.


Adrian Nesbitt drew first blood with a Naomh Ultan point. Gaels hit back immediately with two but in the 7th minute a fast moving counterattack ended with Nesbitt finishing to an empty net to leave it 1-1 to 0-2. While Gaels dominated possession and hit three more points to regain the lead they did look vulnerable to speedy counters from Naomh Ultan and were rocked back when Man of the Match Darragh Murrin hit 1-3 between the 20th and 24th minute to turn the game on its head. Murrin split the posts again in the 27th minute to move the Dunkineely team six ahead but a late Darren Ferry point left it 2-5 to 0-6 at the break.


The Letterkenny men had the lion’s share of possession In the third quarter, scoring just twice though to narrow the gap to three points. They got those three points within two minutes as Brendan O’Briain and Matthew Winters twice hit the target to make it 2-5 to 0-11. It was looking bleak for Naomh Ultan but they finally opened their second half account with 25th minute Murrin point. Gaels continued to exert pressure but as normal time ended Nesbitt to-ed a loose ball to the net and Naomh Ultan were on their way. A Liam Doherty point reduced the gap to three points and while Gaels threw everybody forward for the last few minutes Naomh Ultan held firm to run out 3-6 to 0-12 winners.




Thank you to Geraldine Diver for the photos.