Brendan Kelly added to County Executive as Ulster Council Delegate with four posts remaining unfilled

Donegal’s (Virtual) County Convention was held tonight using Microsoft Teams. A number of officers, having fulfilled their five years were obliged to vacate their posts including: Fergus McGee as Cultural Officer; Paddy Tinney, Assistant Treasurer; David McLoone, Development Officer; and PJ McGowan as as Ulster Council delegate. Some positions were contested and others were re-elected unopposed. The new officer board going forward include:


Chairman – Michael McGrath;

Secretary – Declan Martin;

Treasurer – Alan Boyd;

Vice Chairperson – Seamus O’Domhnaill;

Assistant Secretary – vacant;

Assistant Treasurer – Frankie Doherty;

Coaching Officer – Conor McDermott;

Cultural Officer – vacant;

PRO – John McEniff;

Ulster Council Representatives – Fergus McGee and Brendan Kelly;

Central Council Delegate – Sean Dunnion.


The posts of Development Officer and Child Safety Officer also remain to be filled. These positions will be filled by appointment by the County Executive. David McLoone was elected as delegate to Ulster Convention and Seamus O’Domhnaill as delegate to National Congress.


Three of last year’s officers – Ed Byrne, David McLoone and Paddy Tinney – each lost out for positions which were contested and decided by postal vote. All three were very competent and exceptionally hard-working officers and their contributions will be missed.