MacCumhaills win Fiona Doherty Memorial Tournament

CLG Gaeil Leitir Ceanainn celebrated the memory of one of its former club members when they hosted a memorial underage tournament at Páirc na nGael on Saturday. Family members and friends of Fiona Doherty were among the big crowd who gathered to watch the action as Gaels hosted a four-team Ladies U-14 tournament. Fiona, who died three years ago, was a popular member of the club and was part of the first ever senior ladies team at Letterkenny Gaels. She would, no doubt, be very proud at the rise in the number of lady footballers playing underage at her club, and the talent that was on display during a hugely enjoyable day of football on Saturday.


Along with the host club, the tournament included St. Eunans, Termon and Sean MacCumhaills. The action got underway with the first of the semi-finals with MacCumhaills edging out St. Eunans. In the second game, Letterkenny Gaels had to withstand a strong second half performance from Termon before squeezing into the final. The third and four place play-off was also a very close game with St. Eunans eventually getting the better of Termon.


In the final, MacCumhaills had a two-point advantage over Letterkenny Gaels at the end of a very even first half. However, MacCumhaills kicked on in the second half and produced an impressive performance to ease to victory. Our cover photo shows Ciaran Doherty presenting the Fiona Doherty Memorial Tournament Cup to Erin Gallen, captain of the winning MacCumhaills team.

The presentation of medals and the Fiona Doherty Memorial Cup took place in the clubhouse afterwards with Fiona’s husband Ciaran making the presentations to the four participating teams.

The tournament was organised by Gaels chairman Michael O’Connor, who leads up the club’s ladies board. Michael, and guest speaker James Frain, both congratulated the teams who took part and paid their own tributes to Fiona Doherty. The cup was presented to winning MacCumhaills captain, Erin Gallen. Thanks are also extended to the tournament referee Gerard McHugh, Convoy.


Pictured below are each of the four teams that participated.