Donegal will play either Fermanagh or Tyrone in next weekend’s Electric Ireland Ulster final following their win against Armagh in O’Neill’s Healy Park this evening.


It was a dull opening period and it took 21 minutes before Donegal got their opening score to draw level with Armagh at a point apiece. A positive scoring blitz in the few minutes before the half-time whistle left it 0-4 to 0-2 for Armagh at the break.


Early in the second half Armagh’s Ciaran Campbell received his second yellow but the scoring drought continued, a Karl McGee point the only score before the water-break. Kevin McCormack levelled matters on 17 minutes and Oisin Caulfield fisted Donegal into the lead for the first time in the 24th minute only for Armagh to level up matters within a minute.


With three minutes of normal time remaining and extra time looming, Donegal captain Luke McGlynn broke through the Armagh rear-guard and slotted the ball into the net for the game’s decisive score. The same played converted a free in added time for the insurance score and an Ulster final berth.