Donegal edge Roscommon in the Leo Murphy Cup

Donegal 0-7 Roscommon 0-6


A 26th minute point from Oisin Walsh proved the winner for Donegal in a hard-fought game in Munday’s Field Ballyshannon as Donegal collected the points against Roscommon to share top spot with Mayo in Group 1 of the Leo Murphy Cup. Mayo beat Derry 2-11 to 3-3 at the Connacht Centre of Excellence and the two sides will meet next week to decide who play the winners of Group 2, which was thrown open this afternoon by Louth’s 0-7 to 1-7 win in Tyrone.


The heavy rain that ruled out MacCumhaill Park was a feature of the game in Ballyshannon, particularly in the first half. St Eunan’s Padraig McGettigan opened the scoring and while Gaoth Dobhair’s Ethan Harkin and Naomh Columba’s Aaron Doherty also pointed for Donegal the visitors led by 0-5 to 0-3 at the break.


Roscommon were first out of the blocks in the second period to take a three point lead by the eight minute but would not score again as the Donegal defence held firm as Harkin and Doherty added to their tallies and An Clochan Liath goalkeeper Daithí Roberts converted a long range free to level matters –  unlike Roscommon, Donegal made good use of the breeze to shoot from distance – before Realt na Mara’s Walsh struck for the winner.


Donegal: Daithí Roberts, Oisin Walsh, Conor O’Donnell, Conor Coll, Richard O’Rorke, Cormac Finn, Peter McEniff, Fionn Gallagher, Luke Gavigan, Aaron Doherty, Ethan Harkin, Ronan Frain, Conor McHugh, Padraig McGettigan, Keelan McGroddy. Subs: Ronan McGeehan, Aaron McGlynn, Johnny McGroddy, Carlos O’Reilly, James Kelly, Jamie Crawford, Ryan McShane, Ross Marley, Oisin Kelly, Paul O’Hare and Rory O’Donnell.